Connect with us


Asisat Oshoala Wins African Women’s Player Of The Year, Makes History



images283629 2

Nigerian striker, Asisat Oshoala has written her name in the history books after another CAF African Women’s Player of the Year Award.

The Barcelona forward defeated Zambia’s Grace Chanda and Ajara Nchout Njoya of Cameroon to the award in a ceremony that held in Rabat, Morocco.

The win, which was Oshoala’s fifth, saw her overtake former Super Falcons striker, Perpetual Nkwocha as the player with the most CAF African Women’s Player of the Year Award.

Oshoala, who missed out on the 2022 Women’s African Cup of All Nations in Morocco with an injury, was the only Nigerian nominee to make the final list of the 2022 CAF awards.


The 27-year-old equalled Nkwocha’s haul of four record wins in 2019, adding to her wins in 2014, 2016, and 2017.

Perpetua Nkwocha, who starred for the Super Falcons between 1999 to 2015, won her awards in 2004, 2005, 2010, and 2011.

Meanwhile, Senegal forward, Sadio Mane picked up his second CAF Men’s Player of the Year Award on the night.

The new Bayern Munich forward had won the prize in 2019. The player thanked his coaches, club and team-mates for the prize.


“I am really honoured and highly delighted to receive this award again.

“Thanks to my coaches, my club and national team colleagues and those friends who stood by me during difficult times,” he said.

Mane claimed the prize ahead of Mohamed Salah of Egypt and fellow Senegal international and Chelsea goalkeeper, Edouard Mendy.

Get latest news updates on Twitter and Telegram


wp 16383651986032737371026664246180

Click to comment

Leave a Reply