Connect with us


Prof Benjamin Okaba Inaugurated as 8th President of Ijaw National Council



The Ijaw National Congress on Friday inaugurated Prof Benjamin Ogele Okaba as President, Daily Report Nigeria reports.

The renowned scholar was inaugurated alongside thirteen other National Executive Council members becomes the 8th National President of the Ijaw National Congress since it’s inception in 1991.

Prof Okaba in his inaugural speech, stated the establishment of an academic centre to be centred on the development of Ijaw language.

“In furtherance to our unalloyed commitment to promoting the Ijaw identity,and heritage, I have proposed to the INC National Executive Council to institute the appropriate statutory committee of congress to prepare a bill for the establishment of Ijaw Language and Culture Academy.

“When passed into law, it would among other things facilitate the development of a common/standard Ijaw language and the teaching and learning of Izon in our institutions of learning,” Prof Okaba state among other things.

The event which held at the revered Ijaw House in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa state capital was graced by critical stakeholders in Ijaw Nation.

Governor Douye Diri of Bayelsa state, Barr Kingsley Otuaro, Deputy Governor of Delta state, led a plethora of guests cutting across traditional rulers, youth groups and leaders, the political class, voluntary organizations as well as women groups.

Full list of National Executive Council of the Ijaw National Congress

  1. Prof Benjamin Okaba – President

  2. Mr Atamuno Atamuno – Vice President 1

  3. Chief Alabo Nengi James – Vice President 2

  4. Chief Williams F.J – Vice President 3

  5. Engr Ebipamowei Wodu – Secretary General

  6. Hon Samson Oroupa – Asst Secretary General

  7. High Chief Agu Brown Philip – National Treasurer

  8. Mr. Kennedy Odiowei – Finanacial Secretary

  9. MR Ezonebi Oyakemeagbegha – Publicity Secretary

  10. Engr Onengiofori Fenibo – National Organizing Secretary

  11. Barr Bomo Tons Fetepigi – National Legal Adviser

  12. Mrs Alali Danagogo – National Women Affairs Secretary

  13. Mrs Peremo Isenah Opiah – National Welfare Secretary

  14. Mr Abisagbo Tamara-emi – National Auditor

Follow the news on Twitter

Join us on Telegram

Apply For Latest Jobs Here