Connect with us


Super Falcons Striker Asisat Oshoala Wins CAF Women Award For Fifth Time [Full List Of Winners]



IMG 20220722 103601 763

Super Falcons striker, Asisat Oshoala has been named the 2022 CAF Women’s Player of the Year.

Oshoala, who plays club football for Barcelona, beat Grace Chanda (Zambia/BIIK Kazygurt) and Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon/Inter Milan) to the award.

It is her fifth time winning the award, surpassing Perpetua Nkwocha, the former Falcons striker.

Oshoala was adjudged the best African female football in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019.


“It’s a record-breaking night for me, as an individual and for Africa as a whole – I’ve got five today, five!” Oshoala exclaimed.

“2021-22 season was really tough for me as an individual, and I’d like to thank everyone who has stood by me.

“If you don’t fall, you don’t know the power of comeback and what comeback means,” said a player who managed her scoring feats despite a lengthy spell out with injury.

Oshoala dedicated her award to Nigeria’s Super Falcons, praising the team for the strength they showed when losing Monday July 18, Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (Wafcon) semi-final on penalties despite playing nearly an hour two women down.
In the men’s category, Sadio Mane beat Mohamed Salah and Eduard Mendy to be crowned the 2022 CAF ‘Player of the Year’.


Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Player of the Year (Men): Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)


Young Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Coach of the Year (Men): Aliou Cisse (Senegal)


Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men): Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men): Senegal

Goal of the Year: Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal/ Simba FC)


Get latest news updates on Twitter and Telegram

wp 16383651986032737371026664246180

Click to comment

Leave a Reply